Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

So, fiction writing. It’s been an interesting experience. It’s akin to being an illusionist in which your illusions take on lives of their own and your role is limited to to suggesting where they should go. It’s also hugely nerve-wracking, like wondering if that person you have a crush on will like you back. Most likely, it’s not going to end with you getting dumped head-first into a vat of ice cold water, but you always fear that worst case scenario being a probability.

What I’m trying to say with all those similes is: so many ideas have been whirling around my head that I’m mentally dizzy.

Rather than a piece-by-piece commentary on how I came up with Fake Geek Girl Adventures, I’ll just explain my mentality behind it. In other words, what was I thinking?

a.k.a. Stacy

This is Fake Geek Girl. My mind instinctively went into Rorschach test mode. I see a sarcastic expression that says, “What-ever!” She’s the kind of girl that flippantly brushes off those stupid memes insulting her intelligence, while writing NerD on her hand just to rub it in. It’s like she’s saying, “I’ll make you eat those words!”

Which is how Sonic the Hedgehog interrupted Shadow when he was called fake. So now, I can never see that meme ever again without being reminded of that video. Because it’s way more funny that way.

But for some reason, I wasn’t satisfied with Fake Geek Girl being just some silly Sonic reference in line with Rachel Edidin’s article about taking back the meme. My mind started coming up with a back story, since her personality seemed interesting. Her name became Stacy, because it sounded like an every girl name (and only after finishing the original script did I realize its deeper meaning), and as Spirited Away pointed out, names have power. Fake Geek Girl became Stacy, transforming from an Internet meme into a person.

And then I remembered Manic Pixel Dream Girl by Elizabeth Simins, since it was a story about geek culture that reminded you; hey, there’s a person with feelings behind the “faker” label. So it became the basis of Stacy’s character. Also, I was disappointed that the human girl in Wreck-It-Ralph never got any dialogue, so that was more motivation to do my own version of the nerd girl story. Throw in an underdog plot reminscent of Karate Kid and even the Pokemon anime, and a whole pack of references to the media I enjoyed as a kid growing up around the turn of the millennium, and I had my basic storyline. Now the only problem was writing it: how to best resolve certain situations, how do I twist people’s expectations to make things more interesting, and so on. And I’m still prepared to continually revise the script, particularly to maintain continuity with my future plans.

Originally, I was planning to have a sequel script up for Halloween based on A Nightmare on Elm Street. I had a first draft written up, but it was bad, so I tried to fix it by thinking more carefully about the characters. At some point, their respective back stories expanded well beyond the scope of the script, and since the horror tone clashed badly with the first part, I decided to scrap the idea and make it into an anthology series instead, with a multiethnic ensemble cast in the style of Hey Arnold! instead (in the sense of coming up with a story that more accurately reflects the racial demographics of Vancouver compared to the typical lily-white cast). Still, it wasn’t a waste of time, as it helped me come up with ideas I could incorporate into that series. Also, I would like to revisit the idea of writing a cult-themed horror story some other time.

In the original story, I kept the characters simple so that people could extrapolate their own experiences onto them, but for the anthology, they will have more defined personalities and back stories. The concept also went through its own transformation. At first, it was going to be independent stories with a game-of-the-week feature and a vague sense of continuity, but it drifted further away from just being about games to becoming more character-focused and, as a holdover from Nightmare on Elm Street, focusing on their aspirations in life. In the end, I guess my primary motivation for writing all this is to serve as a metafictional time capsule of the millennial geek experience. To my recollection, this is not a commonly explored topic. There’s Dramacon, and the infamous My Life Me, and I can’t think of much else. I would greatly appreciate recommendations, though.

I have finished a few chapters already, but I’m delaying posting them partly for the sake of revision, and partly because I want to finish first 5 chapters, trying to make a good impression so that people will be interested in sticking around for how everyone’s respective story lines develop. Like I said, the idea of showing people my writing is pretty nerve-wracking, especially with such an offbeat premise. But I do appreciate any feedback for coming up with a better story overall.

