Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

(previous)

(convention centre, video game hall. Stacy and Lucas, controlling Zelda and Meta Knight respectively, each have 1 life left. What I’m Made Of is playing in the background)

(both fighters exchange blows and dodges. Meta Knight seems to gain a percent advantage)

ANNOUNCER: This is tight! Meta Knight’s flurry of attacks has served Lucas well so far, but Stacy is just holding on by playing defensively with Zelda’s magic. It’s anyone’s game! One hit could decide it all!

LUCAS: Ugh, what a noob. You can’t just camp forever! Let’s get this over with!

a.k.a. Stacy(silent, in intense concentration)

(both fighters stand still for a few seconds, eyeing each other. Meta Knight rushes towards Zelda and they collide in a final clash of attacks, but Zelda lands the hit and sends Meta Knight flying)

GAME!

The Winner is…Zelda!

(loud applause erupts from the spectators)

ANNOUNCER: What an impressive victory from newcomer Stacy! It looked like Lucas had her on the ropes, but her patience paid off! She may call herself Fake Geek Girl, but she looks like the real deal!

a.k.a. StacyGood game.

LUCAS: Hmph. Happy you got lucky, scrub?

a.k.a. StacyCall me a scrub all you want, but I’m still the scrub that beat you. (holds out NerD hand)

LUCAS: Whatever. Good game. (begrudgingly shakes hand)

a.k.a. StacyAny time you want a rematch, just let me know.

LUCAS: (silently walks away)

—-

a.k.a. StacyHey, Uncle! I won!

UNCLE: Haha! I knew you could do it! You’re my niece, after all!

a.k.a. StacySo, how did your game go?

UNCLE: Eh, kids these days are damn good. Watch out for Sam. Crushed me without losing a single life.

a.k.a. StacyOh, that’s too bad. But did you have fun at least?

UNCLE: Losing ain’t fun, but I’d be willing to fight again.

a.k.a. StacySweet. Let’s see how Oliver’s doing.

The Winner is…Ike!

IKE: I fight for my friends.

Milking a pun for all its worthGood game.

REN: Indeed.

Milking a pun for all its worthHey, Stace! I’m in the second round!

a.k.a. StacyMe too!

REN: So you’re Stacy? I believe we haven’t properly introduced ourselves yet. I’m Ren. Pleased to meet you.

a.k.a. StacyOh…(reluctantly shakes hands) You’re the Vice-President of the Gamer Club, aren’t you? You, um, don’t still think I’m a fake, do you?

REN: Oh…I’m so sorry about that. Actually, I was excited to have a girl in the club, and so were many of the others. I should have said something.

a.k.a. StacyWell, why didn’t you? You know how it felt to have the entire club jeering at me?

REN: Yes…. It was awful. I was scared of speaking up lest they turned on me too. I guess I’m not as brave as Oliver. Again, I’m really sorry that I didn’t say anything.

a.k.a. StacyIt’s okay. It’s all in the past now.

Milking a pun for all its worthI don’t get it. Why are you friends with him if you seem so scared of him?

REN: Thing is, he’s actually quite insecure since he used to be bullied for being a nerd. It’s not pleasant when his ego gets bruised, but everyone needs a friend. I wouldn’t have stuck with him for so long if he was a complete asshole.

Milking a pun for all its worthI see. Still hope you can talk some sense into that guy, though.

REN: Me too. Anyways, gotta go. I’ll try to catch your remaining games!

Milking a pun for all its worthHave fun.

a.k.a. StacyBye!

—-

(video game room, preparing for second round)

Dyed hair makes good gator repellentHi. I suppose you’re my opponent for the next round. Stacy, right?

a.k.a. StacyUm, yes. And you’re Lydia?

Dyed hair makes good gator repellentYep.

a.k.a. StacyPleased to meet you, Lydia. (shakes hands) It’s so nice to see another girl around here.

Dyed hair makes good gator repellentOh? Why?

a.k.a. StacyWell, this is the first time I’ve met another girl who likes video games. It’s kind of lonely where I’m from.

Dyed hair makes good gator repellentAre you sure? Perhaps other girls have never told you about it. My girl friends and I have been playing games our whole lives.

a.k.a. StacyWait, so nobody treats you as weird for liking games?

Dyed hair makes good gator repellentWeird? No. Around here, guys think it’s cool to see girls playing games. There are some idiots on the Net, but who cares about them?

a.k.a. StacyWow. I wish my town could be like that.

ANNOUNCER: Our second round is under-way! For this match, the newcomer Stacy will be fighting veteran Smasher Lydia. Will Stacy be able to pull another upset with Zelda against Emily and Lucina? Let’s find out. IT’S TIME TO DUEL!

(Hoenn Elite Four Theme from the Pokemon anime starts up)

a.k.a. Stacy(gasp) You’re a veteran?

Dyed hair makes good gator repellentBeen around the scene for a while. Don’t let that scare you, though. Show me your A-game.

a.k.a. StacyAl-Alrighty then.

Dyed hair makes good gator repellentGood luck.

a.k.a. StacyYou too.

(next)

