Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

(School yard at daybreak)

a.k.a. Stacy Can’t be late! The first meeting’s today! Finally, a club where I can meet my fellow gamers, people who don’t think I’m crazy whenever I mention Terra, or Yuna, or Samus. Just think, late-night parties, fanart contests, it’s all so exciting! I hope I don’t make a fool out of myself. This is my one chance!

(walks into Club meeting room)

a.k.a. StacyHi everyone! I’m here for the Gamer Club sign-up!

(silence)

(whispers around the club) A girl!

We never had a girl around here before.

I never met a girl gamer before. Heck, I didn’t even know girls played games!

Do you think I could get her number?

a.k.a. Stacy(Why is everyone looking at me like that?)

LUCAS: So, you’re new here?

a.k.a. StacyYeah! My name is Stacy. I’ve been playing games ever since the first Nintendo system came out. I play all kinds of games, but I adore RPGs especially! My favourite games are Pokémon, Zelda, and Final Fantasy! I’ve been looking forward to joining the Gamer club because it’s so hard to find someone to play with. All the other girls think games are lame. But you guys make games seem so cool! Um, well, not that they aren’t, but you know, cool-er! I can’t wait to see the games library!

LUCAS: …Zelda isn’t an RPG.

a.k.a. StacyUm…I didn’t say it was. At least, I don’t think I did. I meant…I love RPGs. And Zelda. Yeah, that’s what I was really trying to say.

LUCAS: (smirks) Stacy is it? Well, if you’re such a big fan, then clearly you can tell me which Pokémon evolves into Seviper.

a.k.a. StacyUm…It doesn’t evolve from anything. Wait, no one told me there’d be a test.

LUCAS: Oh, we just want to find out where you’d fit in. Have you beaten Emerald and Ruby Weapon?

a.k.a. StacyUh, no. I never beat those guys. You need to do that to be a gamer?

LUCAS: Well, most of us here have. Hmm…have you played Shenmue?

a.k.a. StacyWhat’s Shenmue?

LUCAS: (snickers. Crowd chuckles along with him)

a.k.a. StacyWait, you’re trying to make me look stupid, aren’t you?

LUCAS: I don’t need to “make you”. Any real gamer would at least know one of the most famous Dreamcast games. But I can’t expect much from a girl who thinks Zelda is an RPG.

a.k.a. StacyNo one I knew ever had one. And knock it off. How would you like it if I repeated every slip of the tongue you made?

LUCAS: Okay, initiation’s over. Just give me a moment to make a decision…That didn’t take long at all. What a joke. You may look like a geek, but you’re just a poser. You think you’re so cute and funny with your inane babbling, do you? Sorry, we don’t accept Fake Geek Girls around here. Go suck up to boys in some other club.

(everyone stares at her with a mixture of shame and disappointment)

a.k.a. Stacy…that was harsh.

(next)

